Student Activities Office » Student Activities Office

Student Activities Office

The Delcastle Student Activities Coordinator, Mrs. Karla Denison, plans and monitors all co-curricular and extra-curricular student activities, programs, and non-athletic clubs. The SAC Office acts as a liaison between students, administrative staff, faculty, vendors and community members to facilitate the success of all student programs.

 

 

Interested in starting a new club at Delcastle?

 

Complete the attached NCCVT Club Application Form and submit to the Student Activities Coordinator, Karla Denison, at karla.denison@nccvt.k12.de.us. Students must indicate if they have already secured an adult to be in charge of the club, or if they are still looking for one.

All clubs must align with the Delcastle Core Values which are:

 

Resources are to be valued and shared. (Value and share them)

Each day should start with a positive attitude. (Be positive)

Set a good example for others to follow. (Be a role model)

Personal space and property should be honored. (Honor them)

Expect to be treated with respect. (Reciprocate)

Courteous behavior is contagious. (Be courteous)

Teamwork is essential for success. (Be part of the team)

Foster the sharing of opinions and ideas. (Welcome new ideas)

Understand and value diversity. (Be aware of differences)

Listen with attention and consideration. (Be a good listener)

 

In-person after school clubs meet on Tuesdays and/or Thursdays after school from 3 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Students involved in activities can take the 4:30 p.m. activity bus home on Tuesdays and/or Thursdays. 

 

Why joining a club is beneficial to you!

Sharpens your people skills
Develops you teamwork skills
Gives you opportunities to network
Enhances your resume 
Establishes a support system
Better balance of work and play time
Enjoy a break from studies
Decreases your stress levels
Makes a difference in the community

Current Delcastle Club/Activities List

 
 
ACE    Architecture, Construction, Engineering
The ACE Mentor Program of America, Inc. helps mentor high school students and inspires them to pursue careers in design and construction.  As a participant, you'll join a team of other students, led by adult mentors, who are practicing industry professionals.  ACE isn't about merely describing specific professions; it's about immersing you in the profession by engaging you in actual building projects.  Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. Marty Baeriswyl (marty.baeriswyl@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Animal Club
As an Animal Club member, students will: learn about and care for diverse forms of living things in an attempt to develop an appreciation for living things; collect data on the growth, eating habits, and behavior of various species of animals; develop breeding programs for leopard geckos, ball pythons, hedgehogs, and chinchillas; conduct fundraisers to support our program and participate in volunteer activities to help other programs that help animals; plan and participate in trips to parks and museums; create an online database of information and pictures about the animals kept at Delcastle Technical High School.  Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. Brian Gross (brian.gross@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Art Club
Partnered with The Delaware Contemporary, our students are exposed to various styles of art; from sketch, textiles, sewing, electronic design and abstract.  No experience is necessary.  Students travel to the Wilmington Riverfront to work in the artist studio.  In May we hose a student exposition displaying student work. Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. John Rykaczewski (john.rykaczewski@nccvt.k12.de.us)

 

 

Bowling Team
If you are a beginner bowler or experienced, come strike it rich by joining the coed bowling league.  Once a week, take a trip to Pleasant Hills Bowling facility where you can enjoy making new friends and compete against yourself and others. Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. Tom Gears (tom.gears@nccvt.k12.de.us
 

 

BPA
Business Professionals of America members participate in activities to accomplish their goals of self-improvement, leadership development, professionalism, community service, career development, public relations, student cooperation, safety and health.  Students compete on the state and national level. This Career and Technical Student Organization is only open to students enrolled in the Business Technology Career Area.  Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. Richard Lofink (richard.lofink@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Cougars for Christ
CFC is a student-founded, student-run, faith-based group that wishes to encourage and inspire our Delcastle family and the surrounding community through service.  From simple acts of kindness to community sponsored volunteer opportunities, CFC aims to show and share the principle on which it was founded: love one another. 
Delcastle Sponsor: Ms. Michelle Gamble (michelle.gamble@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 

  

Cultural Awareness
In this club, we investigate cultural aspects and the varying nuances within cultural groups that exist.  Students discuss their understanding of the differences between themselves and people from other backgrounds, celebrating those differences and acknowledging the necessity as a school community to embrace each other's uniqueness.  Falling within Delcastle's goal of cultivating leaders, CAC develops comprehensive communicators who will positively serve Delaware and the global community.  Delcastle Sponsor: Ms. Naomi Moore (naomi.moore@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 

 

Dance Team
Do you like to dance? Do you want to learn? Dance team is for you.  We participate in various school functions including the Homecoming Pep Rally, performance dance and promote school spirit with dance.  Practice is weekly, all are encouraged to come out and show your stuff.  Delcastle Sponsor: Mrs. Nailah Jervey  (nailah.jervey@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Drama Club
The Drama Club will give students an opportunity to participate in supervised creative dramatic activities including a final production.  Students will be exposed to different aspects of theater including impromptu skits, vocal music, dance, costume design, set design, props, and tech crew.  The club will work on creative thinking skills, encourage teamwork, and provide students with enriched learning experiences in the area of performing arts.  Delcastle Sponsors: Ms. Elena Brenner (elena.brenner@nccvt.k12.de.us) and Mr. Anthony Tiberi (anthony.tiberi1@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Drum Line
Through rehearsal, individual practice, and a variety of performance opportunities, the student will gain an understanding and appreciation for this great art form.  Drum Line students will participate in an array of activities including functions inside and outside of the school building. Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. Michael Purnell (michael.purnell@colonial.k12.de.us)

 

  

HOSA - Future Health Professionals
HOSA promotes career opportunities in the healthcare industry to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people.  HOSA provides a unique program of leadership development, motivation, and recognition to students enrolled in health science education and biomedical science programs who have interests in pursuing careers in health professions.  Students compete on the state and national level.  This Career and Technical Student Organization is only open to students enrolled in the Health Career Areas. Delcastle Sponsor: Ms. Jessica Henry (jessica.henry@nccvt.k12.de.us)

 

 

Math League
Math League is currently sponsored by DCTM- Delaware Council of Teachers of Mathematics.  The purpose of the Delaware Secondary School Mathematics League is to cultivate an interest in mathematics through team competition.  Delcastle Sponsors: Ms. Carla Boyett (carla.boyett@nccvt.k12.de.us) and Ms. Savannah Bigelow (savannah.bigelow@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
NHS- National Honor Society
The National Honor Society gives students a place where they can hone their leadership skills and get the recognition they've earned.  All student members reflect the program's respective pillars to be inducted, ideals such as scholarship, service, leadership, and character, and they must continue demonstrating these pillars within their community throughout their membership. NHS member is by invitation only.  Members meet strict criteria for consideration. Delcastle Sponsor: Ms. Lisa Bainbridge (lisa.bainbridge@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Science Olympiad
Science Olympiad is dedicated to improving the quality of science education, increasing interest in science, creating a technologically-literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers.  Students participate in tournaments and events at the state and national level.  SO is open to any student with an interest in science. Delcastle Sponsors: Mr. Tim Dorsey (timothy.dorsey@nccvt.k12.de.us) and Dan Hailey (daniel.hailey@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
SkillsUSA
SkillsUSA activities develop positive attitudes, build self-esteem and empower students to excel.  They give students a head start in developing valuable professional skills such as communications, interpersonal abilities, time management, teamwork and more.  Through career related and leadership events, students showcase their skills learned within their vocation.  Students compete in state and national contests. All career area students are eligible to participate in this Career and Technical Student Organization.  Delcastle Sponsor: Mrs. Karla Denison (karla.denison@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Student Council
Student Council promotes and provides leadership development opportunities to prepare and empower student leaders to serve their schools and communities.  We are about: Leadership- Supporting the development of student and advisor leadership skills and knowledge; Service - Helping build a climate of caring and tolerance through volunteerism and service to others; Student Voice - Promoting Student Council as the voice of the student body and giving every student an opportunity to be heard; Engagement - Encouraging students to become involved in school and community leadership and decision making. Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. Tim Dorsey  (timothy.dorsey@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Toastmaster/Gavel Club
Improve your Public Speaking.  Enhance your leadership/administrative skills.  Develop skills that will assist you to succeed and rise in school and the workplace.  Come to a Delcastle Toastmaster/Gavel Club meeting.  Take that next step toward a better you. Come and improve your communication skills.  Delcastle Sponsor: Mr. Warren Howell  (warren.howell@nccvt.k12.de.us)

 

 

Unified Club
The Unified Club is one layer of the overall partnership that Delcastle has with Special Olympics Delaware (SODE).  The club is student-led, and its purpose is to promote inclusion of all students/people, no matter their disability, gender, religious background, or any other factor that may make a person feel separate from their surrounding community members.  Yearly we work to sponsor Delcastle's Spread the Word Campaign, Rock Your Socks, Over the Edge, and maybe even the Polar Bear Plunge.  The club also participates in the DIAA & SODE Youth Leadership Conference in conjunction with our Unified Sports Program. Delcastle Sponsor: Ms. Greta Humphrey (greta.humphrey@nccvt.k12.de.us)

 

 

W.A.T.C.H. - Winning Advocates for Teen and Community Health
The mission of the W.A.T.C.H. club is to improve the health status of our students, their families and our community through health promotional activities.  Students work as a team to promote healthy lifestyles and provide educational information for a positive mindset.  Delcastle Sponsors: Ms. Bonnie Lane (bonnie.lane@nccvt.k12.de.us) and Melissa Dobbs (melissa.dobbs@nccvt.k12.de.us)
 
 
Yearbook
Yearbook is a great way to meet new friends and express oneself creatively, and each student's contribution to the yearbook can come to fruition when the yearbook arrives!  After being trained, students are given the opportunity to design a yearbook spread.  In addition to designing pages, throughout the course of the year, students also help with various other yearbook related tasks including selling yearbooks, photography, working on promotions, and eventually yearbook distribution.  Delcastle Sponsor: Ms. Katrina Nelson (katrina.nelson@nccvt.k12.de.us